In honor of UN World Oceans Day, SOA is excited to announce our 2021 lineup of events. Join us for an incredible series of virtual conversations with some of the world's top ocean experts, entrepreneurs, policymakers, youth leaders, NGOs, and more. The time is now to open up the conversation about restoring our ocean. We hope to see you tuning in!

Event Schedule

Our events are fully virtual and open to all. They will take place either on Zoom—please register in advance at the links below—or on IG Live.

NOTE: This event has now passed. Please sign up here to stay updated about future event series with SOA.


 

07 JUNE

Defining the Blue New Deal: A Workshop for the Future of Our Ocean

Date: Monday June 7th

Time: 9AM PT / 12PM ET

Speakers:

Marina Porto & Jeremy Raguian from SOA’s Youth Policy Advisory Council

Details: In this workshop, the Sustainable Ocean Alliance’s Youth Policy Advisory Council is unveiling the framework and learning behind the Blue New Deal, a groundbreaking set of ocean policy priorities crowd-sourced from youth across the world. 

Registration: https://bit.ly/3uLoSOY

 

10 JUNE

Ocean Policy and Deep Sea Mining in Latin and South America / 
La política oceánica y la minería de los fondos marinos en Latinoamérica y Sudamérica (Event in Spanish)

Date: Thursday June 10th

Time: 8AM PT / 11AM ET

Speakers:

Michelle Bachelet - High Commissioner of Human Rights in Chile, President of Chile, 2006-2010, 2014-2018

Max Bello - International Policy Expert, Mission Blue

Daniel Cáceres Bartra- Latin American Representative, SOA Peru

Roberto Cerda — Co-Founder, Restore Coral

Emilie McGlone — Director, Peace Boat US

Michelle Graco — Chemistry Oceanography Associate, OA Alliance

Valeria Hinojosa - Sustainability Activist, The Oxygen Project


Details: This in-depth collaborative session with The Oxygen Project, Peace Boat US, SOA Hispanoamerica highlights perspectives on critical ocean policy and deep sea mining activities and their impact on Latin and South American communities.

Registration: https://bit.ly/3h6CEbc

 

15 JUNE

Deep Sea Coral Exploration with Schmidt Ocean

Date:  Tuesday June 15th

Time: 12PM PT / 3PM ET

Details: Join us as Schmidt Ocean gives us an exclusive LIVE footage and sneak peek into their upcoming expedition in Samoa to the Phoenix Islands a UNESCO World Heritage site and marine protected area where they will be studying deep-sea corals. We will be streaming this LIVE from the captains deck on their research vessel Falkor which will return under Chief Scientist Randi Rotjan and have deep-sea samples ready to share with our audience as well as a tour of their ship, deep-sea rovers and marine wet-labs on-board.

Speakers: 

Opening Keynote: Daniela Fernandez, CEO & Founder - Sustainable Ocean Alliance

Introduction: Carlie Weiner, Director of Communications - Schmidt Ocean

Tour of Falkor Ship and Laboratories: Randi Rotjan, Chief Scientist - Schmidt Ocean

LIVE Q&A

Registration: https://bit.ly/3uryuhM

 

IG Live Schedule

08 JUNE

IG LIVE: The Deep Sea: Out of Sight and Under Pressure with Vasser Seydel and Dr. Diva Amon

Time: 1PM PT / 4PM ET 

Speakers:

Dr. Diva Amon @SOAlliance

Vasser Seydel @TheOxygenProj 

Event Details: The #defendthedeep campaign highlights the incredible biodiversity that has been discovered in the deep sea over recent years, showcases its critical role in the broader ocean ecosystem, and draws attention to the impending threats that deep-seabed mining poses to biodiversity, the ocean, and the planet.  Dr. Diva Amon will join Vasser Seydel from The Oxygen Project to discuss recent mining activities in the deep-sea and explore what that could mean for the future of our ocean.

 

09 JUNE

IG LIVE: Ocean Innovation To Further Regenerative Travel 

Date: Wednesday June 9th

Time: 5pm PT / 8pm ET / 8am HK time 

Speakers:

Daniela Fernandez @SOAlliance

Amanda Ho @RegenerativeTravel 

Sam Teicher @CoralVitaReefs

Sampriti Bhattacharyya @NavierBoat

Description: The founders of the Sustainable Ocean Alliance and @RegenerativeTravel will meet to discuss the importance of innovation in the ocean space and how it's related to the impacts of the travel industry. They'll be joined by SOA Startups, who will share their current and recent projects in this field.

 

11 JUNE

Expanding Marine Protected Areas in Galapagos / Ampliación de las áreas marinas protegidas en Galápagos

Time: 4PM PT / 7PM ET

Speakers:

Daniel Cáceres Bartra @SOAlliance

Janice Marquez de la Plata@SOA_Ecuador

Cesar Peñarrieta Migramar@Migramarnet

Details: The political and economic limits of our oceans are changing. Would there be broader benefits with stricter protections? Let's discuss the benefits of expanding MPA’ s in The Galapagos.